My husband enjoys muscle-twisting, sweat-drenching workouts that produce pain and require protein drinks. Part of his athletic portfolio: running local races with the whole family.  For years, I had the excuse of a baby to tend, so I couldn’t participate.  Eventually, that overdue excuse ran out and I signed up against my better judgment for the annual event.

I did it.

Like childbirth, I couldn’t imagine doing it a second time. But it’s May and the race is on my calendar – again.

(That happened with childbirth, too.)

One year the race organizers approached us. Since we were annual participants all from one family, the local news team hoped to feature us. My husband was out of town and couldn’t make it home for the race that spring. Without him, I didn’t embrace the arrival of a news team here at our home to interview and film our training techniques.

I don’t have training techniques.  My goals: to survive the race and keep my bladder intact.

I’ll let you know how that works out for me.

~Lisa

Leave a Reply

