QUALM: The word prompt of the day. My first thoughts:

  • A quiet misgiving.
  • A calm fear.
  • A nagging doubt.
  • An ebbing lack of peace.

Last night at the local Caribou Coffee shop.  I look up with that “caribou in the headlights” stare that the baristas see all day.  Glazing over the menu, I know I will choose the same-old-same-old anyway:

A large Americano with room for cream – boring, low calorie, coffee rich, and satisfying.

Caribou Coffee offers a “question of the day” in exchange for a whopping, debt-reducing dime off your order. For my standard Americano purchase, that is 3.5% off the total (if I answer correctly.)

They also offer a chalkboard question. Today’s query is intriguing. (I gleaned those italicized words from reading every one of the Nancy Drew books in my formative years.)

The chalkboard asks: What is your favorite unusual word?

I like this question.

I know right away what I will scrawl on the chalkboard: UBIQUITOUS.

I see “argent” and “preternatural.” Gotta look those up.

My daughter digs ERSATZ out of her brain and writes it far from UBIQUITOUS in yellow chalk.

I feel encouraged as a homeschooling mom.

Why do I take the time to scroll perfect pink chalk letters and then back away—looking — like I’m examining a work of art?  It’s just a word on a chalkboard. No one is looking. Or are they? Are they impressed with my word? Are they planning to look it up? Are they inwardly nodding in agreement?

What is wrong with me?

It’s just a word.

3 thoughts on “{ Qualm } & Other Words

  1. There are so many brilliant words out there! My favourites are; qualtagh, scribbleomania, spheropygian and strkhedonia! Oh and gongoozler is another 😃🐻

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

