hamburger-494706__340Cooking isn’t my strength, favorite pastime or talent. I have friends that embrace and enjoy cooking like it’s fun. If they could choose an afternoon of creativity, it would be laboring in the kitchen, creating edibles that would be devoured and disappear within one hour.

Our creative bents twist uniquely–not everyone likes to slave over a sewing machine or work barefoot in the garden as I do.

If you are in earshot of my kitchen at 5:00 p.m., you can hear me start reluctantly and noisily pulling out pans and sighing into the refrigerator.

Part of what makes cooking a challenge is that I have raised daughters who seem to delight in cooking and culinary education. They read blogs and books by chef wanna-be’s.  They follow and save recipes. They place themselves on voluntary food restrictions, ie: “I’m cutting out sugar for the summer”; “I’m giving up dairy”; “I’m going plant-based.”

Me? I just eat. 🙂

We have resorted to a serious amount of tailor-made meals.  For a family of thirteen, this gets pretty crazy.

For a woman like me that prefers cooking briskly, solo, and tidying as I go, a busy kitchen is challenging.  And refining.

So, you might feel God speaking to you in your prayer closet, or convicting your heart while you’re sitting in a pew.

But God does a lot of His work on me… in the kitchen.

Word prompt of the day:  tailor

Tailor“>

Leave a Reply

