What I am learning this week:

  • When you plan a big party, remember to double-check to see if your mother-in-law’s invitation got sent.  (I am in the process of making this right.)

 

  • Little people listen more than we realize. When I asked my children today during American History, “What do you remember about Deism?” I didn’t expect eight-year-old Gianny to be the one itching to answer: “It’s the belief that God set the world in order and then went away until judgment.”

 

  • Drones are cool and come in two main styles: quadracopter and hexacopter. People who get to review drones online are very cool.  People that blow things up using household materials are possibly even cooler. And, I was just informed that the King of Random just flew a drone online for the first time.  That’s cool colliding with awesome. (This information was generously handed to me by my 13-year-old, who offered me the pleasure of watching a 7 minute drone video. I am a blank slate when it comes to knowledge of drones, so I learned a lot.)

 

  • Gardens eventually die. Looking out the window this morning, I saw the bittersweet view of a frosty garden.  I mourned my basil and zinnias for about five seconds and then was grateful I wouldn’t have to battle the tomato slugs anymore. I gathered what I could. Photos attached.

 

  • The last peach in the bowl is always the most precious and sought after.  I could divide it into 12 tiny slices….or just eat it myself after everyone is in bed. 🙂
IMG_20171010_143615
I will miss the bright beauty of the zinnias.

 

IMG_20171010_143632
Green tomato recipes, here I come.
Isaiah 40:8~ "The grass withers, the flower fades, but the Word of our God stands forever."

 

2 thoughts on “{ Deism, Drones & Death: Musings of a Homeschooling Mom. }

  1. Your Word Soup smells so good, I can almost taste it! I’ve been swamped lately, with a broken foot, traveling, home schooling my senior, writing, playing the piano, and filling art orders, to say nothing of being a wife and mother… and I’ve really slacked off in the area of reading. But since I just wrote a poem about the importance of reading, I am making it a priority to read more, and I sought you out especially because your writing is always so interesting and uplifting. I can’t believe this one only has one other like so far. People don’t know what they’re missing. I’m also going to share! Have a blessed day. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

